UW-Bothell announces Legacy Award winners

University of Washington, Bothell - Reporter file photo
University of Washington, Bothell
— image credit: Reporter file photo

The University of Washington, Bothell honored Dick and Virginia Chappelle, Maryel Duzan, Max Gellert, Rod Proctor and Lynn Ries as the recipients of the 2011 UW Bothell Legacy Award.

The awardees received the accolade for service they performed over a 20-year period, including groundbreaking work that established the University of Washington branch campuses in Bothell and Tacoma. The group also created the UW-Bothell Founder’s fellowship, which provides undergraduate students the opportunity to engage in independent research across disciplines.

UW-Bothell Chancellor Kenyon Chan commended the individuals for their “remarkable leadership and tremendous vision. UW-Bothell would not exist today were it not for these brilliant and tireless advocates for higher education.”

The awards were presented at the 2011 Chancellor's Dinner and Reception, held at the Chateau St. Michele Winery in Woodinville. Bill Abbott, chair of the UW-Bothell Advisory Board, was the master of ceremonies. The program also featured a speech by Ignace Hounwanou, a West African student enrolled in the nursing program at UW-Bothell.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates