Kenmore City Council elects new mayor and deputy mayor to serve two-year terms

Kenmore City Council elected Nigel Herbig as Mayor and Melanie O’Cain as Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Nigel Herbig (left) and Deputy Mayor Melanie O’Cain (right) Screenshot from City of Kenmore Website

Mayor Nigel Herbig (left) and Deputy Mayor Melanie O’Cain (right) Screenshot from City of Kenmore Website

At the Jan. 10 meeting, the Kenmore City Council elected Nigel Herbig as Mayor and Melanie O’Cain as Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Herbig has served on council since 2014 and has served as deputy mayor since 2018.

Deputy Mayor O’Cain has served on the council since 2020.

Former Mayor David Baker will remain on the City Council. His current term on the City Council goes through 2023. The City Council selected Councilmember Baker to serve as mayor for seven consecutive two-year terms, from 2008 through 2021.

“It has been such a joy to serve as mayor for the last 14 years. It has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life, and I’m grateful for the council’s and the community’s trust in allowing me to serve in this role,” said former Mayor David Baker. “I won’t be going away—I’m still serving on the city council. Good luck to Mayor Herbig and Deputy Mayor O’Cain. They have my full support, and they’ll do a great job.”

Mayor Herbig said, “I want to thank Councilmember Baker for everything he has done as Mayor of Kenmore. His service to this community is unparalleled, and his name will always be synonymous with Kenmore. These are big shoes to fill, and I thank my colleagues for placing this trust in me.”

“The past two years on Kenmore City Council have been the most uplifting of my life. This community, city staff, and council come together in a unique way that makes Kenmore special,” said Deputy Mayor O’Cain. “I feel honored and thankful to have the opportunity to serve as Deputy Mayor for the next two years. I want to congratulate Mayor Herbig on his promotion and thank Councilmember Baker for his outstanding service as the visionary Mayor of Kenmore for 14 years. I look forward to working with Mayor Herbig and this council as we continue to propel Kenmore upward.”

Incumbents Joe Marshall, Council Position No. 2, Angela Kugler, Council Position No. 3, Nigel Herbig, Council Position No. 4, and Debra Srebnik, Council Position No. 6, were reelected to the City Council last November and were also sworn in at the Jan. 10 council meeting by King County Superior Court Judge Marshall Ferguson.

The Kenmore City Council is responsible for establishing city policies, enacting and amending city laws, adopting the biennial budget, and setting the overall direction and vision for the City of Kenmore. City council members serve staggered four-year terms, and the council selects one of its members to serve as mayor and a second as deputy mayor for two-year terms.

In consideration of how we voice our opinions in the modern world, we’ve closed comments on our websites. We value the opinions of our readers and we encourage you to keep the conversation going.

Please feel free to share your story tips by emailing

To share your opinion for publication, submit a letter through our website Include your name, address and daytime phone number. (We’ll only publish your name and hometown.) We reserve the right to edit letters, but if you keep yours to 300 words or less, we won’t ask you to shorten it.

More in News

Courtesy of the City of Kenmore.
Kenmore City Council adopts first Climate Action Plan, hopes to reach carbon neutrality by 2050

“The time to act is now and this is a critical investment in our future,” said the Deputy Mayor.

Courtesy of City of Kenmore.
The Hangar and Diva Espresso return to full operating hours

The Hangar, located in Kenmore Town Square, was designed to hold community gatherings.

File photo.
King County Council approves creation of Cannabis Safety Taskforce amid rash of dispensary robberies

The multi-agency task force will cooperate to find ways to improve safety in the cash-only industry.

Courtesy of King County Council.
Dembowski and Perry to host town hall at Northshore Senior Center

The event will take place on May 19 at 6:15 p.m. at the Northshore Senior Center in Bothell.

Screenshot from ORCA website
New ORCA system launches for regional transit across the Puget Sound

Overhaul includes new website, mobile application and digital business account manager.

Judged by XII: A King County Local Dive podcast. The hands shown here belong to Auburn Police Officer Jeffrey Nelson, who has been charged with homicide in the 2019 death of Jesse Sarey.
JUDGED BY XII (Episode 4): Foster mom wants accountability in Auburn cop’s upcoming murder trial

Special podcast series explores Auburn Police Officer Jeffrey Nelson’s role in the death of Jesse Sarey.

Annie Song. Courtesy of Enkor Competition.
Bothell High School student to perform violin solo at Benaroya Hall

Annie Song will perform Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major, Op 19 by Sergei Prokofiev on May 15.

FILE PHOTO: King County Sheriff’s Office deputies.
Dozens of King County Sheriff’s Office employees left jobs instead of getting vaccinated

This added on to the existing number of vacancies in the department.

Most Read