National Merit Scholarship names 10 Northshore School District students as finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has named ten Northshore School District seniors as National Merit Finalists. Finalists represent less than one-half of 1 percent of the 1.5 million students who took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test nationwide.

Students are:

Bothell High School — Saisriram (Sidd) S. Gurajala

Inglemoor High School — Simon C. Duchastel de Montrouge, Serafina M. Fortiner, Jeffrey J. Maxwell, Natalie G. Smith, Nina S. Xiong and Edward R. Yang

Woodinville High School — Jason Wien, David Hewett and Nathan Pietraszak

Finalists will be considered for more than 7,400 National Merit Scholarship Awards to be awarded this spring and often receive other offers because of their standing as National Merit Finalists.