Bothell, Inglemoor wrestlers miss out on automatic Mat Classic bids

A pair of Bothell High sophomores met in the fifth-place match at the Class 4A Region 2 wrestling championships on Saturday at Skyline High School in Sammamish, with the winner holding a slim chance at making the state tournament.

Matthew Kendrick beat Jay Smith by 11-5 decision to take fifth in the 160-pound bracket and an claim an alternate bid for the upcoming Mat Classic this weekend at the Tacoma Dome.

The top four wrestlers in each bracket automatically qualified for the Mat Classic, with the fifth-place wrestler receiving an alternate nod.

Kendrick will only make the state championships if a higher-seeded wrestler from Region 2 scratches out of the 160-pound bracket.

Bothell’s Trevor Crabb finished sixth in the 120-pound bracket, and sophomore Walker Hardan finished sixth in the 195-pound bracket.

One Inglemoor wrestler reached the podium. Senior Bailey Claudon made the 126-pound bracket semifinals, but finished with a 15-4 loss to Mount Rainier’s Maxwell Bergseth in the fifth-place match.

Tahoma won the regional meet with 346 points, and won nine of the 13 weight brackets. Kentwood finished second with 206.5 points and three individual champions.

Bothell finished 14th with 26 points, and Inglemoor was 16th with five points.


1. Tahoma, 346

2. Kentwood, 206.5

3. Kentlake, 85.5

4. Skyline, 80

5. Mount Si, 68

6. Newport 62.5

7. Issaquah, 61.5

8. Eastlake, 45

9. Mount Rainier, 39

10. Hazen, 37.5

11. Woodinville, 33

12. Kent Meridian, 31

13. Kennedy Catholic, 27

14. Bothell, 26

15. Kentridge, 12.5

16. Inglemoor 5


106 — Justice Rivero, Mount Rainier

113 — Austin Michalski, Tahoma

120 — Andy Sandhu, Kentwood

126 — Jordan Martinez, Tahoma

132 — Nick Whitehead, Tahoma

138 — Alex Lopez, Kentlake

145 — Ryden Fu, Tahoma

152 — Justin Sipila, Tahoma

160 — Stephen Watson, Kentwood

170 — Blake Capperauld, Kentwood

182 — Gage Dress, Tahoma

195 — Kione Gill, Tahoma

220 — Dagen Kramer, Tahoma

285 — Nic Carbone, Tahoma


(Top four placers, plus an alternate)

106 — Jabril Muhammad, Kentwood; Roberto Alvarez, Kentlake; Josh Lee, Newport; Tuombe Selestine, Kentlake (ALT)

113 — Kenta Despe, Skyline; Steven Bounyavong, Kentwood; Cole Turner, Skyline; Robert Ashabraner, Kentlake (ALT)

120 — Joe Novak, Tahoma; William Tickman, Issaquah; Sokhan Son, Kent Meridian; Layton Smail, Kentwood (ALT)

126 — Cameron Hanson, Tahoma; Raymond Park, Newport; Ian Tsang, Woodinville; Maxwell Bergseth, Mount Rainier (ALT)

132 — Gerardo Suarez, Kent Meridian; Payton Masterson, Tahoma; Tyson Mowrey, Hazen; David Zobel, Newport (ALT)

138 — Mario Wesa, Hazen; Reid Carlton, Tahoma; Scott Huff, Skyline; Spencer Marenco, Mount Si (ALT)

145 —Gunner Starren, Tahoma; Duncan Harrison, Mount Si; John Shores, Kent Meridian; Kevin Klein, Hazen (ALT)

152 — Zach Allen, Kentwood; Drew Christiensen, Woodinville; Ethan Vaughan, Tahoma; John Thompson, Kentwood (ALT)

160 — Kaleb Solusod, Issaquah; Jalen Ureta, Kentwood; Jake Bir, Tahoma; Matthew Kendrick, Bothell (ALT)

170 — Mason Marenco, Mount Si; Rogan Kopper, Eastlake; Jasmeet Khera, Kentwood; Chase Helgeson, Issaquah (ALT)

182 — Dean Pearson, Issaquah; Leo Tizoc, Kentwood; Noah Morse, Eastlake; Chris Harper, Skyline (ALT)

195 — Bowen McConville, Kent Meridian; Nick Beatty, Skyline; Caleb Richardson, Newport; Michael Orozco, Kentwood (ALT)

220 — Brennan Dalgleish, Mount Si; Mat Oss, Skyline; Eric Plummer, Eastlake; Ilyas Anaz, Kentlake (ALT)

285 — Brendon Kelley, Kentlake; Charlie Baumann, Newport; Yonas Meshesha, Kentwood; Matt Budoff, Eastlake (ALT)